Author Message

<  Device Information  ~  Usb_modeswitch with ZTE AC8710

PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 7:34 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
If you will explain me what to do I will do it.

I am on Window$ for now because I can not set up internet connection on my Ubuntu...

So what I should download and what exactly to do step by step?

P.S.
Try to explain simple, because I am not a geek and I know English not to good...


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 8:51 pm Reply with quote
Site AdminPosts: 6269Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Unfortunately, my time is very limited at the moment. So I am not able to do a step by step guidance.

But you showed that you are able to use the command line and the important tools, so it might not be as hard as you think.

For an introduction, be sure to read the blog entry (linked on the USB_ModeSwitch page - see "Contribute") about the "Alltel" sniffing. There is also a link to the only Windows tool you need: USBSnoop.

You probably have to run this tool with admin rights too, depending on your setup. First, just try to start it up.


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 9:27 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
So I run it and this is what I get:

Image

Image

OK pressed

Image

And finally

Image


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 9:32 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
Image


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 9:57 pm Reply with quote
Site AdminPosts: 6269Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
"Can't open service manager" = you must run as administrator

Then, check "List Devices Not Present"

Then, look for your default vendor/product ID, select it and press "Install" at "Filter Control". This enables you to log all traffic to this device.


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2009 10:05 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
Done


Image


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 6:18 pm Reply with quote
Site AdminPosts: 6269Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
khurtsiya wrote:
Done
Hmm, not quite. You still need to install the filter.

VID = vendor ID, PID = product ID

The filter will be inserted between your device and the driver. As soon as you replug your stick it writes down all communication into a log file. After switching the log should not grow anymore because the original setup (including the PID) is replaced by the modem setup. Then you are done.

Please do not post the whole log here if possible; better use some file sharing or "pastebin.com".


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 6:44 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
Installed.

Then I unplug modem and got blue $creen of death...

Rebooted. Again $creen...

Again. Again.

Plugged modem to another USB-port. And now I am in again =)

So here is the screen:

Image

What should I do now?


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 9:59 pm Reply with quote
Site AdminPosts: 6269Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
You got it a bit wrong again. You sniff only on the default device which has VID 0x19d2 and PID 0xfff5. This is the device Windows sees first when you plug in. Then the driver attaches to it and some time later sends the switching command - to this very device, because at first there is no other.

It vanishes shortly after ("not present" anymore), so in order to see it you need to list all devices that were ever recognized by your Windows installation, even when they are at the moment "not present".

If you do that with the device already unplugged, there should be no problem. Install the filter, "Start Logging" and plug it back in.

Don't bother to sniff the "ZTE" devices.


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 10:04 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
Well thanks for your detailed post, but I still do not understand what to do...

Can you please describe it step by step? F.e.:

1. Unplug modem
2. Check "List Devices Not Present"
3. Press button Install
4. Plug in modem
5. etc...

TIA

Michael


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 8:15 am Reply with quote
Site AdminPosts: 6269Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
1. Unplug modem
2. Check "List Devices Not Present"
3. Look in the list for your default vendor/product ID (Vid 19d2, Pid fff5), select it and press "Install" at "Filter Control"
4. Plug in modem
5. Press "Refresh" several times, see if "Log size" grows; if it doesn't grow anymore, "Uninstall all". Ready.


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 8:32 am Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
Hooray!

http://pastebin.com/faa0020e

What's next?


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 7:03 pm Reply with quote
Site AdminPosts: 6269Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Very cool :!:

Now we test some of the commands in the log with your device.

I suggest you create a small config file in your working directory, edit it with your favourite editor and let USB_ModeSwitch work with it. In my opinition this is easier than changing the command line all the time.

Suppose this little file is named "test.config". Then you can put your values into it (like in the big "usb_modeswitch.config" but only for your device). You would then call:
Code:
usb_modeswitch -c test.config

Of course you can do it all with parameters like you did before.
You certainly know how to work with the command line history (arrow up) to remember previously typed commands.

Try first these values (or file content for "test.config"):
Code:
DefaultVendor=  0x19d2
DefaultProduct= 0xfff5

TargetVendor=   0x19d2
TargetProduct=  0xffff

MessageContent="5553424312345678c00000008000069f030000000000000000000000000000"
You can leave out the MessageEndpoint, it will be determined automatically.

Remember to call not only "lsusb" but "dmesg" too after each test, it will show what the system is doing if the device switched (or not).

Your log shows a long interval from sending the commands to the vanishing of the device (129 ms to 2299 ms) which is unusual. You might have to wait a little before you see any effect of your commands.


Offline Profile
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 11:13 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 28Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:55 pm
I think it fails...

http://paste.ubuntu.com/172607/


Offline Profile WWW ICQ
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2009 11:47 pm Reply with quote
Site AdminPosts: 6269Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I don't know if it failed. What I see is that your device already switched before!

See the line "Bus 005 Device 002: ID 19d2:ffff" from lsusb.

This is your target ID (0xffff). No more 0xfff5. That's why USB_ModeSwitch found 1 target device and no default device. In that case it does not do anything.

Did you plug it in freshly?


Offline Profile

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]
Page 2 of 5
64 posts
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest
Search for:
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum