Author Message

<  Device Information  ~  alcatel MW40V

PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:30 am Reply with quote
Posts: 3 Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:09 am
Hello everybody!

I'm trying to connect an Alcatel MW40V LTE modem to a debian machine (base system).

Code:
usb 4-1: New USB device found, idVendor=1bbb, idProduct=f000
usb 4-1: New USB device strings: Mfr=1, Product=2, SerialNumber=3
usb 4-1: Product: Mobilebroadband
usb 4-1: Manifacturer: Alcatel
usb 4-1: SerialNumber: 1234567890ABCDE
usb-storage 4-1:1.0: USB Mass Storage device detected
scsi2: usb-storage 4-1:1.0
usbcore: registered new interface driver usb-storage
scsi 2:0:0:0: Direct Access             ONETOUCH MobileBroadBand 2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
scsi 2:0:0:1: CD-ROM                    ONETOUCH MobileBroadBand 2.31 PQ: 0 ANSI: 2
sd 2:0:0:0: Attached scsi generic sg2 type 0
sr1: scsi-1 drive
sr 2:0:0:1: Attached scsi generic sg3 type 5
sr1: Hmm, seems the drive doesn't support multisession CD's
sd 2:0:0:0: [sdb] Attached SCSI removable disk


lsusb

Code:
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 1bbb:f000 T & A Mobile Phones


apparently, if I understood correctly, it has 3 configuration mode and the #1 is the one that I need:

/etc/usb-devices

Code:
T:  Bus=04 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=00 Cnt=01 Dev#= 2 Spd=12 MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 2.00 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=64 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=1bbb ProdID=0195 Rev=02.42
S:  Manufacturer=Alcatel
S:  Product=Mobilebroadband
S:  SerialNumber=1234567890ABCDE
C:  #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=80 MxPwr=500mA
I:  If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=08(stor.) Sub=06 Prot=50 Driver=usb-storage


before I decided to write a post here, I looked around on the internet and of course is full of guides and suggestions, so I tried different configurations, editing various conf file (/etc/usb_modeswitch.conf or /etc/usb_modeswitch.d/1bbb:0195 ...), but I'm not sure that I actually managed to switch the mode.
Maybe should also point out that I didn't compiled usb_modeswitch but I installed it from debian repositories (apt-get)

Any help? I'm willing to start again from scratch, but it's very important for me to make this modem works.
thank you all in advance

ddgg


Last edited by ddgg on Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:43 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Offline
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:25 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 1175 Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:14 pm Location: Koh Samui, TH
1bbb:0195 is the USB Id after switching so you don't need to fiddle with usb_modeswitch config files at all.
Your usbdevices list shows that the rndis_host driver has attached to the modem (which is of direct ethernet type and not dial-up), NetworkManager will find an ethernet device and should be able to connect through it.


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 12:42 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 3 Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:09 am
Thank you for your quick answer...
indeed you are right.
Since I was not sure if the past attempts were right or wrong, I purged usb_modeswitch to start from scratch.
I modified the previous post with the brand new value, as if I never used usb_modeswitch at all.
Could you please take a look again?

should I install NetworkManager? I've been told to use wvdial, but I was struggling with it as well


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:00 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 1175 Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:14 pm Location: Koh Samui, TH
1bbb:f000 is the initial Id for this dongle (and for most other Alcatel dongles as well) and that is an Id which usb_modeswitch has a config file for and can handle without you having to do anything.
Look further down your log file where you should find a call to usb_modeswitch after which the Id changes to 1bbb:0195.

You can not use wvdial or any other dial-up program with this dongle, either handle the created eth device manually or install NetworkManager and let it do it for you.


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Apr 12, 2017 1:43 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 3 Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2017 11:09 am
Beautiful, I simply reboot the machine and now the device is automatically switch to:

Code:
Bus 004 Device 002: ID 1bbb:0195 T & A Mobile Phones


to check: when I run ifconfig I don't see the device, but it appears as USB0 when I use ifconfig -a. Is it ok?

LOM wrote:
You can not use wvdial or any other dial-up program with this dongle, either handle the created eth device manually or install NetworkManager and let it do it for you.


I was thinking that since I don't have any Desktop environment installed, it might be worth it to handle the eth device manually. But I don't have enough experience. Could you suggest me a link or a guide? It might be a good occasion for me to learn a couple of things :wink:


LOM thank you very very much


Offline

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:

All times are UTC+02:00
Page 1 of 1
5 posts
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
Search for:
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum