Author Message

<  The PPP Widget Family for Android  ~  Best modem for Android 5.1?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 5:18 am Reply with quote
Posts: 1166 Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:14 pm Location: Koh Samui, TH
k0nsol wrote:
Eonom advertise 3g capability on these radios.

I wouldn't put it past them to have half assed support though.


I said partial and with that I mean that they only support a very limited number of usb 3g dongles.
Their web site does not have an "About us" page but the web site does at least give an image about them being a US company so their usb dongle compatibility list should show a heap of dongles usable in US, don't you think so? But if that was true then you wouldn't be here, right?

It is sometimes but not alway possible to disable the built-in 3G support so that it doesn't conflict with pppwidget but best is still to chose a modem from the mfgrs compatibility list and use it with the built-in programs.

Good luck!


Offline
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 8:58 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
k0nsol wrote:
Up to date on widget.
[...]
Would it be of any benefit to setup a laptop for you to remote into and take a look first hand at the USB modem?

Not really - we know the modem, as we have met it before.

The problem with that new USB log is that the modem was already in "target" mode when PPP Widget discovered it. To reach a different target mode (the modem has at least three), PPP Widget needs the chance to do the mode switch itself. (For an introduction about that process, read the intro of the USB_ModeSwitch documentation.)

In the case of your new log, either you haven't re-plugged your modem after updating PPP Widget, or there is an installation of usb_modeswitch (or a similar tool) on your Android device which snatches the modem first.

Note also that timing is relevant here. Your modem "auto-switches" its mode to the one you see some seconds after plug-in if nobody else intervenes.


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 1:00 am Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:23 am
I haven't re-plugged the modem yet now that I think about it.

The radio hard powers off when the car is left offline. PPP Widget is the only thing as far as I know that would intervene.

I'm borrowing a Android Tablet from a friend to do some easier testing on. I'll let you know what I find.


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:39 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
k0nsol wrote:
PPP Widget is the only thing as far as I know that would intervene.

If the radio does indeed support a range of modems, it has to have included a tool like usb_modeswitch - the vast majority of modems require a mode switch. Depending on its configuration, it might affect your modem even if it isn't actually supported.


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:42 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:23 am
I picked up a cheap LG tablet at Frys to help test this modem. It runs Android 5.2. This way I don't have to constantly open up my dash.

PPP doesn't seem to communicate with the modem on this tablet.

Currently running a USB2go cable, to a powered hub. Not sure if working forward or backward as it wont connect with this tablet.


Device manufacturer string: LGE
New device on /dev/bus/usb/001/005
Class of interface 0 is 0x08
Looking at USB device 10a9:606f with class 8
Device top dir: /sys/bus/usb/devices/1-1.3, active cfg: 1
Active configuration ID: 1
Device layout (config 1) - cl:ef sc:02 pr:01
if:0 as:0 - cl:08 sc:06 pr:50 - bi:81 bo:01

Found 0 serial ports
No dedicated modem port found
Preparing to switch mode of USB device 10a9:606f ...
Device info:
VID= 10a9
PID= 606f
Manufact.= Pantech, Incorporated
Product= PANTECH UML295
Found matching configuration in collection: 10a9.606f
Switching with mode "Pantech"
Wait for 200 ms
Send Pantech control message with parameters 0x40 0x70 0x04 0x00
New device on /dev/bus/usb/001/006
Class of interface 0 is 0xFF
Looking at USB device 10a9:6072 with class 255
Device top dir: /sys/bus/usb/devices/1-1.3, active cfg: 1
Active configuration ID: 1
Device layout (config 1) - cl:02 sc:00 pr:00
if:0 as:0 - cl:ff sc:e0 pr:10 - bi:81 bo:01
if:1 as:0 - cl:02 sc:02 pr:01 - ir:83
if:2 as:0 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:82 bo:02
if:3 as:0 - cl:02 sc:02 pr:01 - ir:85
if:4 as:0 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:84 bo:03
if:5 as:0 - cl:ff sc:f0 pr:00 - ir:87 bi:86 bo:04

Found 4 serial ports
Opening port type ACM

**************************

Starting modem command sequence ...
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
No modem reply
====


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:08 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 1166 Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:14 pm Location: Koh Samui, TH
Hmm 10a9:6074 expected after switching (but I could be wrong there), 10a9:6072 should work as well.

@Josh
MI_00 ff/e0/10 PANTECH UML295 Diagnostic Port
MI_01 02/02/01
MI_02 0a/00/00
MI_03 02/02/01
MI_04 0a/00/00
MI_05 ff/f0/00 PANTECH UML295 RMNET/QMI Port


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:15 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Even if it may not seem so, we are actually a step further now. The modem switches its mode not to the screwed-up Ethernet mode, but to a different one which should be QMI. This is a different protocol and does not use AT commands.

What's missing now is that PPP Widget identifies this mode in the correct way. I'll see if I can find information about which is the actual QMI port.


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:18 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Ah, thanks, LOM - I'd have asked you anyway about that layout !!

According to this thread, the QMI product ID was yet unknown at the time.


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:22 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
So I'll be gone down to the workshop and complement the QMI table. Stay tuned ...


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 7:27 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 1166 Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 3:14 pm Location: Koh Samui, TH
Josh wrote:
According to this thread, the QMI product ID was yet unknown at the time.


I guestimated the id based on windows drivers on the net 8)
(later I got the full driver, there are around 10 different compositions this dongle can switch into but we only know how to switch into 2 of them)


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:36 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
10 different compositions ???

Who designed that thing ?!

Anyway, I have just uploaded PPP Widget 3 version 1.0.19. The port layout should be identified as QMI now.


Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:18 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:23 am
Same thing, modem doesn't give me the option to connect. Widget says "no response from modem". This has started happening since the port type switched from ECM to ACM. Let me know how I can help! I'm familiar with Linux if needed.:


Device manufacturer string: rockchip
Start search for USB devices
visible on Android OS level ...
Check device 0bda:b720, interface 2, might be a modem
Check device 10a9:606f, interface 8, might be a modem
Found possible 3G USB device 10a9:606f
New device on /dev/bus/usb/001/004
Class of interface 0 is 0x08
Looking at USB device 10a9:606f with class 8
Device top dir: /sys/bus/usb/devices/1-1.2, active cfg: 1
Active configuration ID: 1
Device layout (config 1) - cl:ef sc:02 pr:01
if:0 as:0 - cl:08 sc:06 pr:50 - bi:81 bo:01

Found 0 serial ports
No dedicated modem port found
Preparing to switch mode of USB device 10a9:606f ...
Device info:
VID= 10a9
PID= 606f
Manufact.= Pantech, Incorporated
Product= PANTECH UML295
Found matching configuration in collection: 10a9.606f
Switching with mode "Pantech"
Wait for 200 ms
Send Pantech control message with parameters 0x40 0x70 0x04 0x00
New device on /dev/bus/usb/001/005
Class of interface 0 is 0xFF
Looking at USB device 10a9:6072 with class 255
Device top dir: /sys/bus/usb/devices/1-1.2, active cfg: 1
Active configuration ID: 1
Device layout (config 1) - cl:02 sc:00 pr:00
if:0 as:0 - cl:ff sc:e0 pr:10 - bi:81 bo:01
if:1 as:0 - cl:02 sc:02 pr:01 - ir:83
if:2 as:0 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:82 bo:02
if:3 as:0 - cl:02 sc:02 pr:01 - ir:85
if:4 as:0 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:84 bo:03
if:5 as:0 - cl:ff sc:f0 pr:00 - ir:87 bi:86 bo:04

Found 4 serial ports
Can't disable USB power-save, kernel attribute missing
Opening port type ACM


PPP Log:

Mar 11, 2017 10:16:22

Starting modem command sequence ...
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
>
ATE0
No modem reply
====


Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:53 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
The problem is that interface 5 is still not detected as a QMI port - which should happen after I added the 'profile' (interface protocol combination) to the table of known QMI ports.

Once that happens, the ttyACM ports are - rightfully - ignored.

There must be annother quirk. Back to the workshop.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 12:22 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
O.K., yet annother update. I seem to have gotten one parameter wrong in the previous version.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2017 5:49 am Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 6:23 am
Same as before, (I mean before the ACM mode)

Can't ping 192.168.32.2 from terminal. responds on 127.0.0.1 - I'm pretty sure this is just the LO interface though.

Let me know if I can do anything!

Device manufacturer string: rockchip
Start search for USB devices
visible on Android OS level ...
Check device 10a9:6064, interface 2, might be a modem
Found possible 3G USB device 10a9:6064
New device on /dev/bus/usb/001/005
Class of interface 0 is 0x02
Looking at USB device 10a9:6064 with class 2
Device top dir: /sys/bus/usb/devices/1-1.2, active cfg: 1
Active configuration ID: 1
Device layout (config 1) - cl:02 sc:00 pr:00
if:0 as:0 - cl:02 sc:06 pr:00 - ir:82
if:1 as:0 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 -
if:1 as:1 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:81 bo:01
if:2 as:0 - cl:03 sc:00 pr:00 - ir:83 ir:02
if:3 as:0 - cl:03 sc:00 pr:00 - ir:84 ir:03
if:4 as:0 - cl:02 sc:02 pr:01 - ir:86
if:5 as:0 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:85 bo:04
if:6 as:0 - cl:02 sc:02 pr:01 - ir:88
if:7 as:0 - cl:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:87 bo:05

Found 2 serial ports
Can't disable USB power-save, kernel attribute missing
Opening port type ECM
Could not read descriptor for MAC address - result: -1
MAC idx: 7, raw descriptor: byteArrayToString: no data!
Trying to continue, use made-up MAC


Mar 11, 2017 21:45:27


Starting DHCP request ...
> Phase 3
d0578569cbeabc5ff4e95952080045100148000000008011399600000000ffffffff004400430134
<
ffffffffffffd0578569cbea08004500014826f2000040117209c0a82002ffffffff004300440134
NAK received
> Phase 1
ffffffffffffbc5ff4e95952080045100148000000008011399600000000ffffffff004400430134
<
bc5ff4e95952d0578569cbea080045000148648f000040115392c0a82002c0a82031004300440134
OFFER received
> Phase 3
d0578569cbeabc5ff4e95952080045100148000000008011399600000000ffffffff004400430134
<
bc5ff4e95952d0578569cbea0800450001486490000040115391c0a82002c0a82031004300440134
ACK received
> Phase 9
ffffffffffffbc5ff4e9595208060001080006040001bc5ff4e95952c0a82031000000000000c0a8
< (ARP, connection confirmed)
bc5ff4e95952d0578569cbea08060001080006040002d0578569cbeac0a82002bc5ff4e95952c0a8
Local IP: 192.168.32.49/24
Peer IP: 192.168.32.2
DNS1: 192.168.32.2
DNS2:

End of DHCP negotiation
Android VPN creation complete
VPN network device is up
Network notification accepted after 2300 ms

Connection is ready


Offline

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:

All times are UTC+02:00
Page 3 of 5
61 posts
Go to page   Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
Search for:
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum