Author Message

<  The PPP Widget Family for Android  ~  "Prepare device ..." crash

PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:59 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 4 Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:32 pm
hello

i have a problem with ppp widget when i plugin my zte mf823 the widget says "prepare device ..." and then it crashes.
i have tryed to enable the verbose output from /etc/usb_modeswitch.conf but no such file exists and when enabling it in the widget there only coms and output when i do not plug in my modem.
but i have a tombstone from the crash.

my tablet is a yoga tab 3 plus (yt-x703f)
Attachments:
tombstone.txt [210.54 KiB]
Downloaded 110 times

Offline
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 2:19 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6436 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I have received automatic crash reports with a similar content, but up to now I had no information when these crashs happen. So thank you for that important bit - maybe I can circle the issue better now.

My main problem is that none of my 12+ Android devices has ever shown this native crash ...

That means I can't directly test any fixing attempts. If you agree I'll give you beta tester status so that you can directly try the fixes without normal users being affected.
In that case I would need the e-mail address you use for Google Play. You can send me a personal message through the forum if you don't want this address to be published.


Offline
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 6:10 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 4 Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:32 pm
ill be happy to help!


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 8:38 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6436 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I have just uploaded PPP Widget 3 version 1.0.19.

I have tried a fix for the crash, but it is safe for everyone, so I did a normal release (not a beta version).


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Feb 10, 2017 9:10 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 4 Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:32 pm
i still have the same problem, i submitted the bug report with google, i am thinking about buying another usb modem to test if it is the tablet...


Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 12:09 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6436 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
The problem is certainly not the modem. It's the USB implementation of the tablet.

I have seen your crash - it's a different issue this time. It's possible that the previous one is actually fixed. New try tomorrow!


Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 1:10 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6436 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
So you have added more crashes if I'm not mistaken.

The old one was there again - so I have looked deeper. It seems that I have found something that may affect devices that use the 64 bit variant of Android.

Again, this is something that concerns all users, so I have released annother normal update (just a moment ago).


Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 2:18 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 4 Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:32 pm
yes i did, but that was because i thught that it was the same bug now i installed the new version as both are still happening i have submitted 2 reports now and trying to explain them better.

could the usb implementation handel a different modem different?
i thinking about the Huawei 4G E3372 because i can get it fairly cheap...
if you need adb access to help you understand this tablet better i can set up teamviewer on my computer with adb.


Offline
PostPosted: Sat Feb 11, 2017 3:15 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6436 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Sth0r wrote:
could the usb implementation handel a different modem different?

I'm not sure about that. We can try to put your current modem in a different 'mode' (set "Alternative Huawei mode" in configuration), but if the crash happens while the modem is still in 'install mode' (during the 'Preparing' phase), there will be no difference - nor will a different modem help ...

Sth0r wrote:
if you need adb access to help you understand this tablet better i can set up teamviewer on my computer with adb.

That wouldn't help much, unfortunately.


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:32 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6436 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
New version 1.1.3 available - the native code was compiled differently, and I added an attempt to 'catch' the crash.

I'm not sure what else I can do if you keep getting the crashes ...


Offline

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:

All times are UTC+02:00
Page 1 of 1
10 posts
Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest
Search for:
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum