Author Message

<  The PPP Widget Family for Android  ~  Android N - problem with system notification

PostPosted: Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:11 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I'm very short of time unfortunately, but I will create a beta version which allows to enter a random network interface name.

I recently received my first Android 7 tablet (Galaxy Tab S3) - however, PPP Widget worked almost out of the box with "dummy0" ...


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 1:01 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I have created a Beta version with some improvements and the test entry I promised.

If you give me your e-mail that you use for Google Play, I will add you as Beta tester, and you can start testing right away. Send me a PM if that e-mail is different from the one you use here.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 7:47 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 65 Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:32 am
Hello, I already got the beta version via Google Play future.

Setting interface name to dummy1 causes:
Code:
07-02 19:30:53.417   754   825 D ConnectivityService: Adding iface dummy1 to network 170
07-02 19:30:53.417   341   752 E Netd    : cannot find interface dummy1
07-02 19:30:53.417   341   752 E Netd    : failed to add interface dummy1 to netId 170
07-02 19:30:53.418   754   825 E ConnectivityService: Exception adding interface: java.lang.IllegalStateException: command '1012 network interface add 170 dummy1' failed with '400 1012 addInterfaceToNetwork() failed (No such process)'
07-02 19:30:53.419   754   825 E ConnectivityService: exception in setMtu()java.lang.IllegalStateException: command '1013 interface setmtu dummy1 1492' failed with '400 1013 Failed to set MTU (No such file or directory)'


To sit0:
Code:
07-02 19:30:30.472  1763  1763 I PPPWidget3: Will try to make OS aware of connect ...
07-02 19:30:30.474   754  1370 D ConnectivityService: registerNetworkAgent NetworkAgentInfo{ ni{[type: PPP[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: PPPWIDGET, failover: false, available: true, roaming: false, metered: false]}  network{168}  nethandle{721570941662}  lp{{InterfaceName: sit0 LinkAddresses: [100.97.223.185/32,]  Routes: [] DnsAddresses: [93.153.117.33,93.153.117.1,] Domains:  MTU: 1492 TcpBufferSizes: }}  nc{[ Transports: ETHERNET Capabilities: INTERNET&NOT_RESTRICTED&TRUSTED&NOT_VPN LinkUpBandwidth>=100Kbps LinkDnBandwidth>=512Kbps Specifier: <PPP>]}  Score{100}  everValidated{false}  lastValidated{false}  created{false} lingering{false} explicitlySelected{true} acceptUnvalidated{true} everCaptivePortalDetected{false} lastCaptivePortalDetected{false} }
07-02 19:30:30.475   754   825 D ConnectivityService: NetworkAgentInfo [PPP () - 168] EVENT_NETWORK_INFO_CHANGED, going from null to CONNECTED
07-02 19:30:30.476   754   825 D ConnectivityService: Adding iface sit0 to network 168
07-02 19:30:30.496   754   825 D ConnectivityService: Setting DNS servers for network 168 to [/93.153.117.33, /93.153.117.1]
07-02 19:30:30.506   754   825 D ConnectivityService: Switching to new default network: NetworkAgentInfo{ ni{[type: PPP[], state: CONNECTED/CONNECTED, reason: (unspecified), extra: PPPWIDGET, failover: false, available: true, roaming: false, metered: false]}  network{168}  nethandle{721570941662}  lp{{InterfaceName: sit0 LinkAddresses: [100.97.223.185/32,]  Routes: [] DnsAddresses: [93.153.117.33,93.153.117.1,] Domains:  MTU: 1492 TcpBufferSizes: }}  nc{[ Transports: ETHERNET Capabilities: INTERNET&NOT_RESTRICTED&TRUSTED&NOT_VPN LinkUpBandwidth>=100Kbps LinkDnBandwidth>=512Kbps Specifier: <PPP>]}  Score{100}  everValidated{false}  lastValidated{false}  created{true} lingering{false} explicitlySelected{true} acceptUnvalidated{true} everCaptivePortalDetected{false} lastCaptivePortalDetected{false} }
07-02 19:30:30.507   754   825 D ConnectivityService: Invalid tcpBufferSizes string: , using defaults
07-02 19:30:30.510   754   825 D ConnectivityService: Sending CONNECTED broadcast for type 1 NetworkAgentInfo [PPP () - 168] isDefaultNetwork=true
07-02 19:30:30.513   754   754 D WindowManager: Received network state changed to connected
07-02 19:30:30.524   754   825 D ConnectivityService: NetworkAgentInfo [PPP () - 168] validation failed


In both cases validation is still failing.
If you can post there your logs from Android N so I can look where to search something, because I don't know why Google apps and system are refusing this type of connection at all.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 8:09 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
One of my findings from today's experiments was that the network was available even with network notification disabled !!

That would mean that the VPN network interface is accepted as a regular connection in Android N - which wasn't the case in earlier versions.

So make sure you also test with that option disabled in the PPP Widget configuration. I hope this is not just Samsung-specific ...
The default route will still be set by PPP Widget, but the forced creation of a connectivity message - the only reason for the whole shebang - seems to be obsolete.

The error messages in my logcat are quite similar to your's.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 10:05 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 65 Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:32 am
Much worse with awareness turned off.
But what about isDefaultNetwork state?
Code:
[ 07-02 21:58:01.872   754:  825 D/ConnectivityService ]
Sending CONNECTED broadcast for type 17 NetworkAgentInfo [VPN () - 186] isDefaultNetwork=false
[ 07-02 21:58:01.880   754:  825 D/ConnectivityService ]
NetworkAgentInfo [VPN () - 186] validation passed


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2017 11:04 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I have the same "isDefaultNetwork=false" - but it works anyway.

How do you define "much worse"? Either you have network access or not - how can it get "worse"?


Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 9:29 am Reply with quote
Posts: 65 Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:32 am
Notification turned on - apps that don't work: system apps, Google apps without Chrome

Turned off: system apps, all Google apps (but different error messages), apps that are checking for any connected WiFi/data, some apps simply pick up all internet connections and choose the working one themselves - these ones have no problem.


Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2017 11:14 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Ah, so that means that the network notification did work - gradually, at least.

In my short tests, I only used Firefox. I'll extend it to other apps as soon as I have the opportunity to continue the tests.


Offline
PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:22 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
So my tests have confirmed what you are seeing.

However, there is good news - after some more wrestling with Android, I believe there was a break-through.
I will test some more tomorrow, and if all goes well I will have annother production release tomorrow night.

I managed to make Android N fully accept the network - at least on the one device in my tablet zoo that runs it.


Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 9:41 am Reply with quote
Posts: 65 Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:32 am
I hope you find it through your wrestling and zoo :D


Offline
PostPosted: Tue Jul 18, 2017 10:57 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I have released annother beta - could you please test it? It should say version 1.2.1 (version code 36).

I want to be cautious ...


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:24 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
If you don't see the latest beta, PM me the email you use for Google Play and I'll add you as a tester.


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 7:58 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6430 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
I have released annother beta version - the previous one had an API target of 24 which totally broke the message display of the widget.
It did work, but with no status display.

The version code is now 37.


Offline
PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 10:42 am Reply with quote
Posts: 65 Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:32 am
Ok, I will try it asap, but unfortunately I have lost all beta accesses for unknown reason, so if you can add my mail which I will PM you now. Thanks


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2017 1:00 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 65 Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2016 11:32 am
I'm still not able to access any beta channel due to weird bug in Play store…
What have you done in the latest release (not beta)? Because after several reinstalls and bug - the first profile setup is not saved - it starts working with Google apps and system background, so good job!


Offline

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:

All times are UTC+02:00
Page 3 of 7
95 posts
Go to page   Previous 1 2 3 4 57 Next
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
Search for:
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum