Author Message

<  The PPP Widget Family for Android  ~  Feature request (modem detect delay/loop/intent)

PostPosted: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:40 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
I have car install with nexus 7 2012 wifi, stock kernel 4.4.4, root, otg host + external powered usbhub, when screen on + usbhub powered up sometimes widget not detect modem(lsusb return modem is present), if tap on widget icon modem detects and connection established successfully, at this time i workaround with tasker + "input tap x y" command when screen on to automaticaly click on widget icon to detect modem and connect, can this fix somehow? Maybe some delay before detect or loop detect several times when modem is connected to usb? Or intent to try detect modem again by sending intent, intents can handle by tasker it's more true way than emulate tap :)

Modem ZTE MF112 and Huawei E173 similar issue
ppp widget 3 / v1.3.2


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 8:44 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
The reason for this occasional 'hang' might be that Android sometimes kills the background process of PPP Widget, like it does with all programs that it thinks are idle, to free some memory.

If you tap the icon in this case, do you see only the message "Search for modems" - or do you notice that the whole initialization is repeated, like when you freshly place the widget on a workspace? Then you should see "Check access" for a short moment.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 10:50 am Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
as i remember only the message "Search for modems", very fast init, hard to see details.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 6:14 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
it's possible to run init modem process from shell?


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:32 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
No, the automatic modem detection is started by an intent from the system, from the moment where you confirm that PPP Widget should always handle the modem.

I would like to do some experiments, but my development computer does not have a brain at the moment ...
I sent the CPU to AMD because I was affected by the Ryzen Linux bug.


Offline
PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2017 9:55 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
ok! will be wait :) At this time i try xposed module app settings, there are option to resident app to prevent killing by android

UPDATE
keep ppp widget 3 in memory with app settings not resolving problem, still "no modem", still only tap on icon resolve problem :|


Offline
PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:26 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
New issue detected... If device away from cellular network and signal is very weak or lost, ppp widget 3 crashed and no worked till unplug/plug modem. I have tested ppp widget 2 for fun, and there are no issues! No tablet wake up detect modem issue, no signal lost issue (ZTE MF112). It's very cool, but ppp widget 2 not supported LTE modems as i know, in the near future i want to install LTE modem. Oh, maybe with LTE modem PPP Widget 3 will be working fine :roll:


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 7:52 am Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Is there any difference with behaviour of PPP Widget 3 when you disable the signal indicator in the configuration?


Offline
PostPosted: Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:24 am Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
No difference, i'll don't use indicator because is not work with zte mf112 modem, just gray, with huawei worked but i don't use huawei modem, he often get dialing error, manual or intent dialing helps, but speed is poor. So, zte is best for me at this time in 3g network.


Offline
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:46 am Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
Yesterday i try ZTE MF667 in NCM mode(detects as network card on desktop os) with ppp widget 3, and widget not detect modem it this mode, only in modem mode detects/works, but description says The new ones - in case you are an expert - are NCM, ECM and QMI. :|


Offline
PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:18 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
Hmm, can you post the "USB Log" that you get in PPP Widget after inserting the modem?
(Logging must be enabled of course.)


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:34 am Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
Code:
17 OKT. 2017 r. 23:54:40

Device manufacturer string: asus
 Found possible 3G USB device 19d2:1403
New device on /dev/bus/usb/002/014
 Class of interface 0 is OxEF
Looking at USB device 19d2:1403 with class 239
 Device top dir: /sys/bus/usb/devices/2-1.4, active cfg: 1
Device layout (config 1) - cl:ef sc:02 pr:01
 if:0 as:0 - cl:e0 sc:01 pr:03 - ir:81
 if:1 as:0 - c1:0a sc:00 pr:00 - bi:82 bo:01
 if:2 as:0 - c1:08 sc:06 pr:50 - bo:02 bi:83

Found 0 serial ports
No dedicated modem port found
No useable modem interface found, can't use this device


In NDIS mode i can't disable CD-ROM, maybe that is reason.. AT+ZCDRUN=8 not helped.


Offline
PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 3:23 pm Reply with quote
Site Admin Posts: 6420 Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2007 12:30 am
xaser wrote:
In NDIS mode i can't disable CD-ROM, maybe that is reason.. AT+ZCDRUN=8 not helped.

This modem is quite special - it has an 'autoswitch' feature.
See this discussion:
viewtopic.php?p=16162#p16162

It could be worth trying this:

Remove all PPP Widgets from your workspaces.
Insert the modem.
Ignore messages from PPP Widget.
After 10 seconds, put the PPP Widget on the workspace again.
If the modem is not detected, start the manual search by touching the icon.

If the modem does what it should do on a Linux system, it will be in ethernet mode (instead of RNDIS) with the ID 19d2:1405.

Be careful with the ZCDRUN command; also, the CDROM mode must be enabled to reach the ethernet mode.


Offline
PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2017 9:21 pm Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
So, with NDIS not worked, not switched to NDIS mode, but this is not matter, in modem mode ZTE MF667 works perfect, there is only one problem about detect after sleep in first post of topic :)


Offline
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:35 am Reply with quote
Posts: 24 Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2017 7:34 pm
Any news? BTW i change modem to huawei E3372, works perfectly, same a little issue about wake/auto detect.


Offline

Display posts from previous:  Sort by:

All times are UTC+02:00
Page 1 of 2
16 posts
Go to page 1 2 Next
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest
Search for:
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum