Batteries included
Post Reply
kemonine
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Oct 2019, 19:20

ipv6 only upstream / modem

Post by kemonine » 08 Oct 2019, 19:23

Is there a way to force a modem to only operate in ipv6 mode? I've currently got a Quectel EC25-AF and a T-Mobile SIM. Unfortunatly PPP Widget 3 seems to hang on activation / connections.

I've seen this before with ModemManager on Linux and other setups that don't fall back to ipv6 only and/or don't allow me to force the mode as ipv6.

T-Mobile in my area won't provide ipv4 to LTE modems and without being able to force ipv6 or have a fallback option to ipv6 only I'm kind of stuck. The call's / dialing will fail if ipv4 is attempted at all.

Josh
Site Admin
Posts: 6569
Joined: 03 Nov 2007, 00:30

Re: ipv6 only upstream / modem

Post by Josh » 09 Oct 2019, 19:03

Hmm, that's a new one. At the moment, only IPv4 is handled in PPP Widget.

This will be a considerable load of work. I can't make promises at this time.

kemonine
Posts: 2
Joined: 08 Oct 2019, 19:20

Re: ipv6 only upstream / modem

Post by kemonine » 10 Oct 2019, 16:58

Josh wrote:Hmm, that's a new one. At the moment, only IPv4 is handled in PPP Widget.
I had a hunch this was the case, thank you for the confirmation.
Josh wrote:This will be a considerable load of work. I can't make promises at this time.
I appreciate the honesty. I'll keep an eye out for updates and leave this topic open ended for others who may run into the same situation.

Post Reply